Kelp Us, We’re Graduating!

   This past Saturday, our team presented our final project to our peers, faculty, family, advisors, and clients. We were so lucky to have a huge turnout of supporters from The Bay Foundation, including the Executive Director Tom Ford, all excited to hear our results. In addition to receiving such great support from them, it was also extremely exciting to see our peers in the environmental science program present their results as well. We were able to hear about ebony conservation, sustainable aquaculture, corridor mapping, fire prevention, and so much more. I was so impressed with all my peers and am so proud to be graduating alongside them.

95cb8b9c58074821bb534fbdd577e489

   4 years ago I never would have imagined that I would end up where I am now – but I wouldn’t have wanted it to go any other way. Coming into UCLA as a humanities major, science was the last thing on my mind. But I couldn’t be more thankful for the year of turmoil and indecisiveness that helped me stumble into environmental science because without it, I would not have found my passion. For the past 9 months our team has been putting countless hours of work into this project. It has not only been a rewarding experience, but we have learned lessons and skills that we would not have learned in any classroom. It’s wasn’t always easy (in fact I would say most of the time it wasn’t easy), but it is an experience that we will never forget. 

Leave a Reply

